EQUINOX: It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin

EQUINOX is out with Album It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin with Vince Clarke via Recordia Prin Records…


EQUINOX: It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin

Equinox: It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin is Digital Download and very limited CD via Recordia Prin Records.

Intense and acclaimed poet Equinox is releasing his powerful debut album which features a remarkable range of artists who were invited to freely interpret his work and contribute backing music to the poems. The result is a genre-spanning release, from electro to funk, post-punk and cinematic electronica all with Equinox’s compelling Mancunian voice, and the musicians include Vince Clarke (Erasure, Depeche Mode, Yazoo), Deux Furieuses and Feral Five.

When William Blake penned his often recited poem Jerusalem about the North West of England (more specifically East Lancashire) he could almost have unwittingly been setting the scene for the work of Equinox. Those ‘dark Satanic mills’ almost a metaphor for the depression that is prevalent within the poetry and the ‘mental fight’ that has become an almost daily battle.

The poetry of Equinox takes no prisoners with subject matter ranging from male suicide to prostitution but with equal amounts of undying love and devotion, and has been set to music by several musical influencers with whom contact has been made over the last few years.

The debut album, It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin will be released on Recordiau Prin Records on 26 June 2017. An appearance on the tYDbXx album by Welsh miserablists Radio Europa in the form of Josephine sparked initial interest as did surprise appearances at two 2016s secret gigs, and Scream sees a duet with Welsh D.I.Y. lo-fi artist Pulco which has already featured on Radio Wales, Radio KC and Pure Radio.

Scream was also featured on the recent #MoreInCommon compilation raising awareness for the Hope Not Hate campaign.

Poems were recorded by Equinox who then invited fourteen artists to freely interpret his work. “The whole process took around eight months to complete and it was a constant feeling of surprise and delight to hear how the artists deciphered my work and pieced around their own arrangements. The album is released shortly after my Birthday and I couldn’t have wished for any better gift”.

Equinox aren’t just about poems, they stand to break down any misconceptions about the genre and the often hard-hitting deadpan will continue to be a source of interest over the coming months. 2017 promises to be a very interesting year.

Tracklist It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin – Equinox

01. Help Me Please (feat. Ashley Reaks)
02. Kiss (feat. Feral Five)
03. Goodbye (feat. Dementio13)
04. Sarah Jayne (Aftermath) (feat. Ceiling Demons)
05. Somebody Too (feat. Rosie Bans)
06. Don’t Die On Me (feat. Snippet)
07. Goodnight Vienna (feat. Vince Clarke)
08. Sweet Rose (feat. Radio Europa)
09. Mule (feat. Nat Lyon)
10. Scream (feat. Pulco)
11. How It Is – JAYmiX (feat. Jay Stansfield)
12. Humankind (feat. Deux Furieuses)
13. Gone (feat. Superhand)
14. Belief (feat. Will Harris)

Info: https://www.facebook.com/SoundsofEquinox/

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

7 − cinque =

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.